I’ve been unpacking boxes and arranging furniture and babysitting overnight, but finally I am in my own place and semi-functional, which gives me more time to concentrate on the important things in life.

I wound 3 skeins of a nice red alpaca from Classic Elite

and searched high and low for my needle cases, dug out a crochet needle and some Sugar ‘n Cream for waste yarn for the provisional cast-on, and finally started my “Matt” scarf.

So far so good – I am enjoying it, except for the fact that the chart is not in a format that I am used to. It charts the front side on one line and the back side on another line, rather than charting only the front side. I get confused because I can’t envision as easily what it should look like, but I am getting the hang of it.

So far, there is ribbing, seed stitch, and double seed stitch appearing in the first inch. This pattern will definitely keep my attention, because in the next inch, the checkerboard of patterns all switch…

